February, The Cowrite

After making some new acquaintances at the SAC Regional Writer’s Group meeting, last week, I decide to embark on the Nashville staple “The Cowrite”.

I’m not big on co-writes, preferring as most to “do my own thing.” However, as part of my New Year’s resolution of being more social, I’m willing to give it the old college try.  My new partner/cowriter and I part ways after Tuesday’s meeting  with the promise of continuing to work on the title  exercise.

Fred, is quick out of the gate – supplying me with a roughed out version of the song we had started within two days. He forwards me an MP3 and a first draft of lyrics.  The recording features a guitar, some kind of synthesizer, and Fred’s voice doubled up on the chorus.

I take a listen. He has included “Not Really” as a refrain in the first verse but then not come back to it at all. He has now called the song “Where I Want to Be.” I react on obvious levels but do not belabour it.  However, from my perspective, Fred has already departed from the plan.

Fred’s song features  the impassioned  yet challenged male writing the love ode to the only one that really matters: THE SIGNIFICANT OTHER. Here’s Fred’s take on “Not Really”, now called Where I Want To Be.

Where I Want To Be

Do I have time for fun and thrills
or even funds to pay these bills?
Not really. No, not really.
But does that make me hate my life
or make me want to run and hide?
Not really. No, not really.

Chorus
Because you, standing right by me forever
is all that I will ever need.
And every moment that we spend together,
 I know I’m where I need to be.

Things aren’t quite the way we planned.
You probably could have found a better man.
I know it. Yeah, I know it.
But there’s not a thing I wouldn’t do
just to keep my promises to you.
And you know it. Yeah, I think you know it.

Chorus

Some kind of bridge

I guess I’m just a lucky guy
and I’m telling you the reason why.
I love you. I love you.
When you doubt the things you thought you knew,
there’s still one thing you know is true.
I love you. I love you.

Chorus

C Fred B. 2015

It’s a good start. I like the idea that he has structure and melody.  I’m liking the verses but not so fond of the chorus.

Fred’s second version comes quickly. I have not provided feedback on the first. There is little change, but Fred has now  indicated in red a battle plan and where he feels content should be added. I’m thinking he wants me to fill in the blanks on his creation He has presumed that I want to work on his version without asking.  However…

This is a co-write, so I respond with my take on Fred’s original version.  I take a traditional country approach, i.e. three chords and the truth, and throw in a dash of irony. In the spirit of the co-write, I try to include the lines from Fred’s version but am having difficulty making it work.

I do include the sentiment – the ne’er do well or underachieving protagonist who survives but for the love of a good partner. I take it through about seven drafts and then record it. I’m not particularly happy with it, but it’s part of the process. And I want to keep it on schedule.

Here’s my take on “Not Really”. It is a work in progress.

Not Really, Version  7

Verse 1
Looks like we’re finished
With the fun and thrills dear
Not really
And now we’ll have
To pay up all the bills
Bimonthly
So before this situation
goes much further
Completely
Here’s one thing
That I’d like to make clear

Chorus
I truly sincerely do love you
And I most likely always will care
And I ‘m not ever going to leave your side dear
I’m going to love you for, half a million  years

Verse 2
Your  thinking now
This love might lack potential
Not really
But I’ll promise you
That I won’t break your heart
Hopefully
I’m saying now
I’ve got my limitations
Distinctly
But if you love me
We’ll never be apart

c James McGee 2015 

I forward it to Fred (along with my .mp3)  and don’ t receive much of a response. He points out correctly that “Not Really” is not  a title to hang your hat on.  I agree, it’s tough to make the expression have worth and transcend the negative connotations.

We have both chosen different lines for our choruses. He lets me know that he will be pursuing “Where I Want to Be” on his own. There is no analysis of my take,  just a statement of facts. And with that the first co-write of the season is over. I wish him luck and tell him to keep me informed of his progress on the song.

 Lessons learned:
1.  Discuss with your writing partner before you take off, don’t  get your back up if the other writer responds too quickly. If you do respond too quickly don’t expect your piece to be bible.
2. After frank discussion, have a battle plan.
3. Leave your ego at the door
4. Let your sacred cow(s) die. Know when the song has beat you, move on. I find, in most co-writing situations that there is no mutual consensus but rather a pushing of  individual agendas. If you just want feedback, make that clear
5. Forget the co-write. Write your own thing then have someone criticize.

And finally
I’m glad that Fred and I have had this back and forth. It has been a good exercise to go through,  I think of it as training camp for the upcoming SAC songwriting challenge.

Leave a comment